Understanding the Governance Structures of SDI.

The supreme governing body of SDI is the Council of Federations, which includes all “mature” federations in the network. As of October 2016, there are 12 “mature” federations within the SDI network. They are: Ghana, India, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Philippines, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The Council meets once a year and sets the agenda for the SDI Board.

The Secretariat of SDI is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the network. The Secretariat is made up of four teams: Finance and Administration; Global Advocacy; Learning, Monitoring and Evaluation; and Projects.

See the above presentation (linked in the photo above) for more details on the evolution and practice of SDI’s governance structures.